铭印现象
2017.6.24-2017.08.27
 

铭印现象

 

艾可画廊将于2017年6月24日呈现群展《铭印现象》。展览由岳鸿飞担任策展人,参展艺术家包括:陈翊朗、邓德尹、刘慧德、沈心怡、苏畅、杨沛铿和于吉。

 

在刚刚孵化后的某个时期,某些鸟类的幼雏会把它们遇到的第一个会动的东西所对它们形成的环境刺激长久地植入自己的个体行为中,无论那个东西是一只母鸭、还是一双胶鞋,这种现象被称为“铭印”。从某种程度上来说,艺术品和小鸭仔有点相似,在生产和培育的某个关键时期,都会将自己铭印在其创造者身上。铭印现象标志着先天基因与后天养育殊途同归的时刻。本次展览考察了艺术创作的一种特殊形式,即作品经过艺术家身体的两次塑造:第一次是身体有意识地给予材料某种表现形式;第二次则是作品于罅隙处吸收身体无意识留下的痕迹。热、基础代谢、皮肤、指纹、时间、湿度……通过这些,物体将自己铭印在其创作者身上。

 

展览空间由一系列低矮的柱体隔开。其中一半作为基座,放置了一系列陶瓷作品。创作者为现居纽约的澳门雕塑家刘慧德(1987年生),作品灵感来源于多种文化中的神话故事、生物形态的建筑和流行文化里的自然。这些雕塑具有夸张的哥特式外形和丰富的细节,在每一个起承转合之处都体现出手工的质感。另一半柱状物是上海艺术家苏畅(1985年生)的石膏雕塑。他追随罗伯特·戈伯的脚步,创造了一系列貌似现成品的作品。而与拾得物不同的是,这些堆叠的砖块实际上是一组石膏模型。在看似统一的外表下,这些雕塑时而显现、时而又隐匿艺术家手工的痕迹。

 

展厅的几面大型展墙,交给了经常接受大型场域特定项目委托的香港画家陈翊朗(1988年生)。这次在上海展出的,是他自香港艺术空间里闭关将近一个月后的首件作品。其中所展现的某些新形态,或许会让熟悉他典型暗黑鬼魅风格的观众感到讶异。今年春季在巴黎开展创作的于吉(1985年生),对她创作中的一些已有元素进行重新演绎,带来了一件新的装置作品。其主要材质是混凝土板,上面覆盖了青苔、丝网印和绘画。另外,还有在维也纳拍摄的一次私人行为纪录。混凝土作品本身体现了通过各种生物体实现的铭印过程,而装置的形式则更进一步地,使行为影像得以投射在其表面。

 

现居纽约的沈心怡(1989年生),擅长利用稳定性处于临界点的素材。她经常将某些无形或半生物的材料,与出自纯粹情感状态的参照符号关联起来。这次展览中,她带来了特制的火柴和蜡烛,使它们散发出像她的宠物狼蛛一样的气味;此外,她还呈现了绣着元素术语的制服,让接受外包的第三方在劳作和日常生活中留下自己的痕迹。香港艺术家杨沛铿(1988年生)的作品常围绕浪漫与自我关怀等主题,其语汇来自他照料宠物鱼鸟等动物的爱好,呈现出对于失去和依恋的思考。最后,居住在洛杉矶的邓德尹(1991年生)利用了“molding”(建筑装饰线脚)和“mold”(霉菌)的谐音双关,探索工作室环境内时间流逝的痕迹。

 

 

开幕: 2017年6月24日, 下午3点-7点

展期: 2017年6月24日至8月27日

开放时间: 早上10点至下午6点(周一闭馆)

场馆:艾可画廊,中国上海市龙腾大道2555号6号楼, 200232

 

如需更多信息请联系 shanghai@aikedellarco.com

 

 

 
 
铭印现象-新闻稿    (177.7 KB)   
A Most Filial Imprint - press release    (152.77 KB)   
 
当前展览 过往展览
现场图片 新闻稿 作品 作品清单
© 2017 AIKE DELLARCO, Shanghai All rights reserved.

A Most Filial Imprint
June 24th - August 27th, 2017
 

A Most Filial Imprint

 

AIKE DELLARCO is glad to announce the opening of “A Most Filial Imprint" on 24 June, 2017. The exhibition is curated by Robin Peckham, including works of the following artists: Oscar Chan, Dylan DeRose, Heidi Lau, Sydney Shen, Su Chang, Trevor Yeung and Yu Ji.

 

During a critical period after hatching, baby birds of certain species imprint themselves on the first moving stimulus they encounter, be it the mother duck or a pair of galoshes. Art objects, in some ways, are a little bit like baby ducklings that imprint themselves on their makers during a certain critical period of birth and rearing. Filial imprinting marks the moment at which nature and nurture function as one. This exhibition examines a particular form of art-making in which the object is shaped twice by the body of the artist: first when the body gives conscious or expressive form to the material of the object, and then again when the object absorbs the unintentional traces of the body along the seam between the surfaces of both. Heat, basal metabolism, skin, fingerprints, time, humidity; these are the terms through which the object imprints itself on its author.

 

The space of the exhibition is defined by a series of low columns. Half are pedestals supporting the work of New York-based Macanese sculptor Heidi Lau (1987), whose ceramics draw on the mythologies of multiple cultures, biomorphic architecture, and nature in popular culture. Appearing extravagant and gothic in form, the level of detail in her sculpture is overwhelming, and the hand is present at every turn. The other half of the columns are the plaster sculpture of Shanghainese artist Su Chang (1985), who works in the footsteps of Robert Gober by creating things that look visually indifferentiable from ready-mades. Rather than found objects, however, his stacks of tiles are actually modular plaster casts, universal forms that wrestle with retaining or jettisoning the handiwork of the artist.

 

Several large wall faces are given over to the Hong Kong-based painter Oscar Chan (1988), who often works on large-scale site-specific commissions. His piece for Shanghai is his first since emerging from an almost month-long self-imposed exile in an art space in Hong Kong, resulting in new forms that may be surprising for viewers accustomed to his typically dark psychological hauntings. Yu Ji (1985), who is working in Paris this spring, contributes a new installation that repurposes existing elements from her work, including concrete boards covered with moss, screen printing, and drawing, as well as video documentation of her private performance practice in Vienna. While the concrete works reflect the process of imprinting through multiple biological donors, the installation configuration further allows the temporary projection of performance material onto their surfaces.

 

Sydney Shen (1989), based in New York, also works in material that is only liminally stable, often bringing together certain intangible or semi-biological materials with symbols and references drawn from states of sheer affect. Here, she installs specially produced matches and candles engineered to smell like her pet tarantula, and utility garments embroidered with elemental terms, outsourcing the work of the trace to third parties through labor and bare life. Trevor Yeung (1988), the Hong Kong-based artist whose work often touches on themes of romance and self-care through a vocabulary derived from the hobbyist maintenance of living creatures like pet fish and birds, presents works that thinks through loss and attachment. Finally, Dylan DeRose (1991), who lives in Los Angeles, celebrates the built-in pun on architectural moldings and slime molds with wall sculpture that explores how time is marked in the space of the studio.

  

 

Opening: June 24th, 2017, 3pm-7pm

Date: June 24th - August 27th, 2017

Opening hours: 10am - 6pm (closed on Mondays)

Venue: AIKE DELLARCO, Building 6, 2555 Longteng Avenue, Xuhui District, Shanghai, China 200232

 

Please contact us at shanghai@aikedellarco.com for further information.

 

 

 
 
铭印现象-新闻稿    (177.7 KB)   
A Most Filial Imprint - press release    (152.77 KB)   
 
Current Exhibitions Past Exhibitions
Installation View Press Release Artworks Checklist
© 2017 AIKE DELLARCO, Shanghai All rights reserved.